IowaIowa

Eviction for Non-Payment of Rent

Authored By: Iowa Legal Aid
Read this in:
Spanish / Español

Information about the eviction process.

"This month, I couldn't pay my rent on time.  I just got a call from my landlord who said I have 3 days to get out but I have nowhere else to go.  What can I do?"

"This month, I couldn't pay my rent on time.  I just got a call from my landlord who said I have 3 days to get out but I have nowhere else to go.  What can I do?"

A tenant who does not pay rent on time may get a notice from the landlord.  Iowa law requires:

  • The notice must be in writing.
  • The notice has to say the lease will end if rent is not paid within 3 days.
  • The notice has to be properly served to you.
  • This 3-day period gives you a "right to cure" by paying the rent within those 3 days.
  • If you pay the full amount of rent in 3 days, the landlord cannot legally evict you.

Note:

If you cannot pay the rent within 3 days, you do not have to move out right away.  The landlord must first file an eviction action in court.  Only a judge can lawfully evict a tenant.

  • Iowa Legal Aid provides help to low-income Iowans. 
    • To apply for help from Iowa Legal Aid:call 800-532-1275. 
    • Iowans age 60 and over, call 800-992-8161 or 
    • apply online at iowalegalaid.org
 
If Iowa Legal Aid cannot help, look for an attorney on “Find A Lawyer” on the Iowa State Bar Association website iowabar.org.   A private attorney there can talk with you for a fee of $25 for 30 minutes of legal advice.
 
*As you read this information, remember this article is not a substitute for legal advice. 

This legal information was translated with the assistance of a Prairie Meadows Community Betterment grant.

Last Review and Update: Jun 29, 2015
LiveHelp

Contacting the LiveHelp service...