Skip to main content

Law Changes this Legislative Session

Authored By: Iowa Legal Aid

Information

Iowa law was changed in many ways during this session of the legislature. Here are some of them:


Supplemental child care fees allowed

If you participate in the state child care assistance program, your provider is now able to ask you to pay the difference between the state child care assistance reimbursement rate and the rate the provider would typically charge a private-pay family. You and the child care provider must agree in writing to these additional charges before the child care begins.


Domestic and sexual assault protective orders:

The two parties in a protective order case can agree to have a protective order entered without the court having to make a finding that an assault occurred. This could make it easier to get a consent order without having to go to a hearing.


Mobile homes and manufactured housing parks:
•    Tenants must now receive 90 day notice of rent increases.
•    Tenants must also receive 90 days notice of termination of the lease.
•    If a tenant wants to sell the mobile home, the landlord must approve the purchaser as a tenant. If a landlord does not approve of a purchaser as a tenant the landlord must provide a written notice with the general reason for the denial, but the landlord is not required to provide a specific reason for the denial.
•    If the landlord fails to provide running water or other essential services, tenants can get reasonable amounts of water or other essential services and deduct the cost from rent,  recover damages for the decrease in the value of the lease or recover some portion of rent already paid.


Unemployment benefits:
•    The number of weeks of possible unemployment benefits has been cut from 26 weeks to 16 weeks for most claimants.
•    The definition of “misconduct” has been expanded which will increase the number of persons disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits.
•    Claimants will have to take jobs at lesser pay sooner than before. The law accelerates the reduction of gross weekly wages that constitute “suitable work” required of claimants to apply for and accept in order to maintain ongoing weekly eligibility.


Waiver of license fees:

A licensing board, agency, or department shall waive any fee charged to an applicant for a license if the applicant's household income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty income guidelines and the applicant is applying for the license for the first time in this state. Waiver of fees is also available for those who have been generally or honorably discharged from active duty or national guard within the last 5 years. Administrative agencies have until January 11, 2023 to implement rules.


Elder abuse:
There are now enhanced criminal penalties for physical assault or theft against older individuals who are persons 60 years old or older. There are also new criminal laws against abuse or financial exploitation of an older individual.

 

Last Review and Update: Jul 26, 2022
Back to top